FAQ

Questions about the
Climate Bet

What is the Climate Bet?

The Climate Bet is a participatory and motivational campaign. It encourages effective climate protection and aims to draw attention to the extremely important UN climate conference, COP26, which begins on 1 November 2021 in Glasgow. The climate protection goals of the states must be urgently improved, so that the Paris agreement can still be reached and the climate crisis can be contained. If the countries were to increase their targets by about one tonne of CO2 per citizen per year, we would finally be on the politically agreed 1.5-degree path. With the climate bet we draw attention to this target and show how everyone can make an important contribution. For more information, watch our campaign video (with english subtitles).

 

Answers 

Here you can find answers to your questions about the climate bet, the climate protection projects and the donation process. If you couldn't find an answer to your question, please write us a mail: wirmachen@dieklimawette.de.

  • Donate 1 ton of CO2: Go to www.dieklimawette.de/en/participate, enter how many tons of CO2 you would like to donate and select one or more projects to which your donation should go.

  • Spread the word about the bet: After your participation, you will receive a confirmation email in which you will receive a personal link. This link looks like this www.dieklimawette.de/1H.... Send this link to your friends and acquaintances. As soon as you have won more than 2 allies, you will appear with your game card in our CO2-Battle. 

  • Save CO2 personally: Living greener and more sustainably is not difficult! Our quick tips show you how easy it is to flip the green switch in just 30 minutes and reduce your personal carbon footprint. 

  • Take part in our challenges: Every month there is a new challenge. Under 'News & Challenges' you can find inspiring challenges from our bloggers Anna and Santa. 

  • Take the Climate Bet to your own city: If your region or city is not yet listed in our city ranking - change it! Spread the word, talk to organisations, local groups or climate protection managers in your town.

With the Climate Bet, we not only advertise for better climate protection, but also collect donations for very specific carbon offset projects with which we can save at least 1 tonn of CO2 for every 25 euros donated. Every month, at least 90% of the donations are transferred to our non-profit partners atmosfair, Compensators*, Fairventures Worldwide, Klima-Kollekte, myclimate and PRIMAKLIMA, who implement the carbon offset projects. All transfers are listed on the transparency page. We need the remaining donations to finance the climate bet itself and the payment fees.

Climate Bet donations close funding gaps for climate protection projects that save tons of CO2 and would not be carried out without the donations. Paraffin lamps, for example, are cheaper than solar lamps. Through the donations, the solar lamps can be made cheaper so that they are cheaper than paraffin lamps. These funding gaps vary in size, as the projects themselves also vary widely (from reforestation to solar panels to efficient cooking stoves). One exception is emission certificates from the European Emissions Trading Scheme. Here, it is not a question of a financing gap, but of the entire price. The price of €25 is therefore an average value of the projects we have selected, so that on average we can actually guarantee 1 ton of COavoidance per €25 donation.

  • When it comes to the price of CO2, a distinction must be made between "damage costs" and "avoidance costs". With our donations for the climate protection projects, we avoid CO2 so that no damage occurs in the first place. These avoidance costs depend on the type of project and can even be positive. If I don't fly on holiday, I not only save a lot of CO2, but also money. In other cases, however, such as the rewetting of peatlands or the use of vegetable carbon, they are well over €25 per ton.

  • The damage costs, on the other hand, arise in the long term if the CO2 remains in the atmosphere for decades and extreme weather events such as droughts and floods become more frequent as a result. The German Federal Environmental Agency has calculated damage costs of around €180 per ton for 2016 and as much as €190 per ton for 2020. These costs will be due in the coming decades for every additional ton of CO2 that we "dump" into the atmosphere.

  • The Climate Bet lives from spreading the word: take part in the CO2-Battle and win more participants.

  • Make the Climate Bet known locally: Order posters from us and hang them up in shops, for example (currently only in German). If you are interested to have an english one, feel free to contact us!

  • You want to do more? Great, then get in touch with us and let's talk about it!

 

  • Our climate protection projects must meet high social and ecological standards.

  • They were selected together with our advisory board and are implemented exclusively by non-profit organisations.

  • We would like our projects to represent as wide a variety as possible: Renewable energies such as solar energy and biogas, different types of reforestation projects, energy efficiency projects as well as emission certificates. In this way, everyone can decide for himself or herself which type of project he or she likes best.

  • Since many climate protection projects in Germany and Europe are (could be) state-funded, it is not at all easy to find projects that cannot be carried out without the donation (keyword "additionality") and which, on the other hand, are not too expensive. Compared to projects in emerging and developing countries, such additional projects in Europe are much more expensive, which is why significantly less COwould be saved with the same amount of money.

Of course, you can donate several times or for several people. There are three ways to do this:

  • Use a different email address for each donation. Then each climate pin is "autonomous" and can be freely moved and designed. The only thing that has to be "unique" is the e-mail address because of the display on the map. Your donor data for the donation receipt, on the other hand, can be repeated. Our recommendation!

  • If you only have or want to use one e-mail address, you must log in to your profile to donate several times and then click on "donate again". Each donation will then also receive a new climate pin. However, these climate pins are all linked to the first climate pin and cannot be designed differently. This is therefore not so suitable for giving as a gift.

  • From 4 people or 4 tons of CO2, you can also set a group pin when donating. In this case, there is only one pin on the card. But this pin gets a star for better visibility and counts each ton as one participant. A great thing for families, companies or groups! 

Donate with an email address not yet used for the climate bet for the next ton of CO(see also the previous question "donate several times").

Personalise the new climate pin for the recipient, e.g. with a nice photo and a saying.

fill in the appropriate fields and give it as a gift.

FAQ

Fragen rund um die Klimawette

Was ist die Klimawette?

Die Klimawette ist eine Mitmach- und Motivationskampagne. Sie macht Lust auf wirksamen Klimaschutz und möchte auf die extrem wichtige UN Klimakonferenz, die COP26, aufmerksam machen, die am 1. November 2021 in Glasgow beginnt. Dort müssen die Klimaschutzziele der Staaten dringend nachgebessert werden, damit die Beschlüsse von Paris noch erreicht und die Klimakrise eingedämmt werden kann. Wenn die Staaten ihre Ziele um etwa eine Tonne COpro Bürger*in und Jahr erhöhen würden, kämen wir endlich auf den politisch beschlossenen 1,5-Grad-Pfad. Mit der Klimawette machen wir auf diese Zielgröße aufmerksam und zeigen, wie jeder und jede dazu einfach einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten kann. Für weitere Infos schau dir gerne unser Kampagnen-Video oder das Statement-Video von Blogger Daniel Obst an.

Antworten 

Hier findest Du Antworten auf Deine Fragen zur Klimawette, den Klimaschutzprojekten sowie dem Spendenprozess. Falls Du keine Antwort auf Deine Frage bekommen konntest, schreib uns gerne an wirmachen@dieklimawette.de.

  • Spende 1 Tonne CO2: Gehe auf www.dieklimawette.de/mitmachen, gebe an wie viele Tonnen CODu spenden möchtest und suche dir ein oder mehrere Projekte aus an die Deine Spende gehen soll.

  • Trage die Wette weiter: Nach Deiner Teilnahme erhälst Du eine Bestätigungsmail, in welcher du einen persönlichen Link erhältst. Dieser sieht wie folgt aus www.dieklimawette.de/1H.... Schicke diesen Link an Deine Freund*innen und Bekannten. Sobald du mehr als 2 Verbündete gewonnen hast, erscheinst du mit deiner Spielkarte in unserem CO2-Battle

  • Spare persönlich CO2: Grüner zu leben ist gar nicht schwer! Unsere Quick-Tipps  zeigen Dir, wie einfach Du in nur 30 Minuten den grünen Schalter umlegen und so Deinen persönlichen CO2-Fußabdruck reduzieren kannst. 

  • Nimm an unseren Challenges teil: Jeden Monat gibt es eine neue Herausforderung. Unter dem Reiter 'Aktuelles' findest Du inspirierende Challenges von unserer Bloggerinnen Anna und Santa. 

  • Trage die Klimawette in die eigene Stadt: Wenn Deine Region oder Stadt noch nicht bei unserer CO2-Städteliga​​​​​​​ gelistet ist - dann ändere es! Verbreite die Wette, sprich mit Organisationen, Ortsgruppen oder Klimaschutzmanager*innen aus deinem Ort.

Wir machen mit der Klimawette nicht nur Werbung für besseren Klimaschutz, sondern sammeln Spenden für ganz konkrete Klimaschutzprojekte, mit denen wir pro 25 Euro Spende mindestens 1 Tonne CO2 einsparen können. Mindestens 90 % der Spendeneinnahmen werden von uns monatlich an unsere gemeinnützigen Partner atmosfair, Compensators*, Fairventures Worldwide, Klima-Kollekte, myclimate und PRIMAKLIMA weitergeleitet, die die Klimaschutzprojekte umsetzen. Alle Überweisungen findest Du auf der Transparenz-Seite aufgelistet. Die restlichen Spendeneinnahmen benötigen wir für die Finanzierung der Klimawette selbst und die Zahlungsgebühren.

Die Spenden der Klimawette schließen Finanzierungslücken für Klimaschutzprojekte, die tonnenweise CO2 einsparen und ohne die Spenden nicht durchgeführt werden würden. Kerosinlampen sind z. B. billiger als Solarlampen. Durch die Spenden können die Solarlampen so verbilligt werden, dass sie günstiger sind als Kerosinlampen. Diese Finanzierungslücken sind unterschiedlich groß, da auch die Projekte selbst sehr unterschiedlich sind (von Aufforstung über Solaranlagen hin zu effiziente Kochstellen). Eine Ausnahme stellen die Emissionszertifikate des Europäischen Emissionshandels dar. Hier handelt es sich nicht um eine Finanzierungslücke, sondern um den gesamten Preis. Der Preis von 25 Euro ist demnach ein Mittelwert der von uns ausgewählten Projekte, so dass wir im Durchschnitt auch tatsächlich 1 Tonne CO2-Vermeidung pro 25 Euro Spende garantieren können.

  • Bei den Preisen für CO2 ist zu unterscheiden zwischen "Schadenskosten" und „Vermeidungskosten“. Mit unseren Spenden für die Klimaschutzprojekte vermeiden wir CO2, so dass erst gar kein Schaden entsteht. Diese Vermeidungskosten sind abhängig vom Projekttyp und können sogar positiv sein. Wenn ich nicht in Urlaub fliege, spare ich nicht nur viel CO2 ein, sondern auch Geld. In anderen Fällen wie bei der Wiedervernässung von Mooren oder der Nutzung von Pflanzenkohle liegen sie hingegen deutlich über 25 Euro pro Tonne.

  • Die Schadenskosten entstehen hingegen langfristig, wenn das CO2 jahrzehntelang in der Atmosphäre ist und hierdurch z. B. Extremwetterereignisse wie Dürren und Hochwasser häufiger werden. Das UBA hat für 2016 hier Schadenskosten von rund 180 Euro die Tonne berechnet, für 2020 sogar schon rund 190 Euro die Tonne ermittelt. Diese Kosten werden in den nächsten Jahrzehnten für jede Tonne CO2 fällig, die wir zusätzlich in der Atmosphäre „abladen“.

  • Unsere Klimaschutzprojekte müssen einem hohen sozialen und ökologischen Anspruch genügen.

  • Sie wurden zusammen mit unserem Fachbeirat ausgewählt und werden ausschließlich von gemeinnützigen, d.h. nicht gewinnorientierten Organisationen umgesetzt.

  • Wir möchten mit unseren Projekten eine möglichst große Vielfalt an Projekten abbilden: Erneuerbare Energien wie Solarenergie und Biogas, verschiedene Arten von Aufforstungsprojekten, Energieeffizienzprojekte sowie auch Emissionszertifikate. So kann jeder und jede selbst entscheiden, welcher Projekttyp ihm oder ihr am besten gefällt.

  • Da in Deutschland und Europa viele Klimaschutzprojekte staatlich gefördert werden (könnten), ist es gar nicht so einfach, Projekte zu finden, die ohne die Spende nicht durchgeführt werden können (Stichwort „Zusätzlichkeit“) und die andererseits nicht zu teuer sind. Im Verhältnis zu Projekten in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern sind solche zusätzlichen Projekte in Europa nämlich viel teurer, weshalb mit der gleichen Geldsumme deutlich weniger CO2 eingespart werden würde.

Du kannst natürlich mehrmals bzw. für mehrere Personen spenden. Dazu gibt es drei Möglichkeiten:

  • Für jede Spende nutzt Du eine andere E-Mailadresse. Dann ist jeder Klimapin „autonom“ und kann frei verschoben und gestaltet werden. „Einmalig“ muss nur die E-Mailadresse wegen der Darstellung auf der Karte sein. Deine Spenderdaten für die Spendenbescheinigung können sich hingegen wiederholen. Unsere Empfehlung!

  • Wenn Du nur eine E-Mailadresse hast oder nutzen möchtest, musst Du Dich zum mehrmaligen Spenden in Dein Profil einloggen und dort auf „nochmal spenden“ gehen. Jede Spende erhält dann ebenfalls jeweils einen neuen Klimapin. Diese Klimapins sind aber dann alle mit dem ersten Klimapin verknüpft und können nicht verschieden gestaltet werden. Dies eignet sich demnach nicht so gut für das Verschenken.

  • Ab 4 Personen bzw. 4 Tonnen CO2 kannst Du auch bei der Spende einen Gruppenpin setzen. Dann gibt es zwar nur einen Pin auf der Karte. Dieser erhält aber einen Stern für bessere Sichtbarkeit und zählt jede Tonne als einen Teilnehmer bzw. Teilnehmerin. Für Familien, Unternehmen oder Gruppen eine feine Sache! 

Spende mit einer noch nicht für die Klimawette genutzten E-Mailadresse für die nächste Tonne CO2 (siehe auch die vorherige Frage „mehrmals spenden“).

Gestalte den neuen Klimapin persönlich für den Beschenkten z. B. mit einem schönen Foto und einem Spruch.

herunter, ergänze die entsprechende Felder und verschenke sie.